top of page

FOLLOW US:

  • Facebook Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

Crossfire Series

AUTHOR: Sylvia Day

PUBLISHED: February 4th 2014

SERIES: Crossfire #1,#2.#3, #4

RATING: 4/7 Sins

SUMMARY:

From #1" New York Times "bestselling author Sylvia Day comes the provocative masterstroke of abandon and obsession that redefined the meaning of desire, and became a global phenomenon... Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness... He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I'd never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily...

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other's most private wounds...and desires. The bonds of his love transformed me, even as I prayed that the torment of our pasts didn't tear us apart...

REVIEW:

Let me start out by saying i will review this series as a whole rather than the books individually. I really struggled with this one since I have a lot of conflicting feelings about the books. I just want to say.. damn this woman writes fast. The first book of this series was published in 2014 and she's already published 4 books of the series by now!

I have read most of Sylvia Day's books and I enjoy some more than others. I must say her style of writing isn't made for me (people who need to know every detail of every aspect in a book). She has a paculiar way she writes, which you can recognize in all her books.

This story is about Eva. A strong independent woman. She has her life completely together, a nice job, a bright future, a bombshell body and much more it seems.... or does it... On the inside it seem Eva struggles with a lot of demons from her past. She has one best friend (WHOM I LOVE) *Hint Hint Sylvia please write a spinoff* overall she keeps her inner cicle very small.

One day Eva comes across (See what i did there) the glorious all-so-mighty Gideon Cross. Basically the richest son of a B in town. He apparantly owns the building where she works and half the city with it. Eva becomes a permanant mark on Gideon's radar and so their story begins...

Gideon is a very well known and put together man. He walks with confidence and lives with pride. Only he doesnt really. If you think this story is about Eva.. Think again.. And if you think it's about GIdeon.. Think again.. I know I know very confusing, but honestly that's how i've felt through out the entire series. This book gave me nothing really. It's like having all the ingrediënts for a perfect sandwich but you don't do anything with it and stay hungry.. It really didn't have that oompf that i was searching for. The entire series doesn't have that climax you crave for in books. It was all very.. how do I say this nicely.. flat? I wish i have a deeper connection to the book to really get into it in my review but sadly it's all very vague for me.

Both lead characters have an amazing background story that you'd only wish for in a book. It really made the dynamic of the book. But sadly it was like they were competing with who has the sadder story without any thrive for competition. Like i said I have a lot of complex feelings about this.

The storyline follows in book 2, and follows..and follows.. and will follow again in book 5. It Doesn't have any build-up, climax, or ending. none of the books do. I must say they did have some steamy moments and scenes I enjoyed but overall.. flat

I feel like Miss D. wrote this book in a form of hope for the future. Yes i will explain that sentence in a minute. The series is basically a more twisted but less anticapated book of the Fifty Shades series. I kind of started this series based on the recommandations. This is that kind of books that doesn't do justice to it's image. The series is bought for production to be made into a series. And honestly i feel like that's exactly how she wrote it. With the thought of filming this book. I feel like the Grey series have made all of us a little star strucked but hunnaay this was not the way to go.

I didn't Paticulairly liked the series but I didn't hate is aswell.. It was a book I would read in my free time when i had absolutely nothig to do and nothing to read.. A book in between books.

As for the ratings.. can you guess it? I didnt want to go high but I didn't want to go low either. It was well written except for the fact that the storyline just wasn't there for me and the story fell flat and short. I didnt like every book equally but in general so far in the series i give this a 4 sins. If it would be just the first book i'd probably would have given it a 3 sins.

I heard this series will continue till book 7. I bet Miss D is the type to let haters hate with her devotion of continuering this series. I'm not particularly looking forward to the next books but i'll probably read it anyways...Every one need an in-between book right?

And don't forget. It only takes one, to fall in love with many

~A&A~

bottom of page