top of page

FOLLOW US:

  • Facebook Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

Dirty Promises

AUTHOR: Karina Halle

PUBLISHED: September 15th 2015

SERIES: Dirty Angels #3

RATING: 3/7 Sins

SUMMARY:

Blood. Sex. Revenge. It ain't easy being king. Drug lord Javier Bernal has sliced and diced his way to the top of the Mexican drug trade, presiding over the country's largest cartel. But his rise to power comes at a brutal price: the death of his sister, Alana. Devastated and wracked with guilt, he turns away from his new wife, Luisa, forcing their marriage into a steady decline. But it isn't until she's pushed into the waiting arms of Esteban Mendoza, his right-hand man, that Javier realizes everything he's lost. And it isn't until he learns the truth about Alana, that he realizes everything there is to gain. Blood will spill. Cities will burn. Heads will roll. Because Javier will stop at nothing until he gets what he wants. And what he wants is raw, ruthless revenge. The most dangerous man is the one with nothing left to lose.

REVIEW:

This book... it was intense to say the least. If you haven’t read the previous books of this series, I recommend you do. Book one was nothing compared to this one my fellow readers.

This book continues the story of Javier and Luisa in a future sense. After the death of his sister, Javier is disconnect and off the rails. He is pushing his wife away for the wrong reasons and the once filled with love marriage is no more. Luisa knows what Javier does behind her back and doesn't know how to reach him anymore. Their marriage is falling apart. Luisa however finds solace in the arms of Javier’s right hand man.

After losing most members of his family Javier truly understands the costs of this lifestyle and the power that his enemy hold above him. Loving someone makes you weak in his mind. This story involves around enemies and allies. Luisa in a moment of weakness does something she will regret deeply. Javier and Luisa's marriage isn't as strong as it was and when Luisa goes to him for comfort and forgiveness, it's too late.

This story turns from a 0 to a 100 real quick. This book isn’t for the faint of heart. It’s dark and gruesome at times. Even though I like dark genres, this one deserves its own entire selection. It was too much at some times. There is a danger that knocks at the Bernal’s and Luisa seems to become the bigger victim. The events that occur often turn gruesome and at times I had to take a break, the torture and abuse you saw was mild compared to this book.. The ugly side of the cartel touches Luisa and tries to tear her down mentally and physically. At the end of the book Luisa becomes such a strong woman which I even admired.

To understand Javier better I would recommend to read ''On Every Street'' by Karina Halle. It's about Javier and his first love. Which never gets explained fully in Dirty Angels.

Let me just say that I LOVED Dirty Angels and I was looking forward so much to this sequel of their final love. I mean after all the pain and struggle they went through I really wanted to read just about them. Sadly I was not given that blessing *Sniff* this book just goes straight into their marital problems and gives little moments of their intense love which you achingly search for in the book. ​

My heart ached so much for them and especially Luisa. She is one of the, if not the strongest female character I have read. Even though the ending should give you solace, it left a hole in my heart. I wished to see some happiness and love which I did get in the end at the very short lived epilogue, but I just got pain and hurt instead. I can't help but describe Luisa at the end of this book as Carrie in that move.. well Carrie.. When she was all in pig blood and stuff?

This serie still holds a special place in my heart but I feel like the writer could have done so much more. The tools were all there in book 1 and I just wished the story would have been continued in book 3.

I give this a 3 sins because of the explicit and harsh scenes. It feels to me that this book concentrated more on torture and revenge than actual connection between the two. As I said in my first review of Dirty Angels, you have to go in this with the mentality of the drug cartel and their situations to understand it. If you fail to do so then this book may not be it for you.

And dont't forget! It only takes one, to fall in love with many...

~A&A~

bottom of page